EXPO 58


On 17 April 1958, the Brussels World's Fair opened at the Heysel site. This large-scale event was a showcase of Belgium and 44 countries (at a time when the UN had 82 members). With the slogan, a world for a better life for mankind, this event propagated a message of limitless optimism and is a reflection of a society confident in its future and enthusiastic about the future of humanity.


THE GENESIS OF EXPO 58

In 1953, Brussels was designated to host the first World Fair to be organised since the end of World War II. Competing against Paris and London, the Belgian capital convinced the jury because of Belgium’s unequalled experience in hosting World's Fairs: between 1885 and 1935, seven had been held on its soil.

The European economy was booming at that time.  The Thirty-year post-war boom was characterised by a considerable rise in living standards of the European populations at a time that looked to the future with eternal confidence. The theme of Expo 58 was - a world for a better life for mankind where this new world of never-ending growth was based on faith in technical and scientific progress. Pure science would provide salvation for humanity, as one of the event's many exhibitions endeavoured to show. 



THE TRANSFORMATION OF A CAPITAL


Opened to the public from April to October 1958, the World's Fair was an immense success:  41,454,412 admissions were recorded.  Expo 58 provided a unique window on the world at a time when foreign travel was still rare.  In order to host it, Brussels, recently named capital of the European Economic Community, was metamorphosed and adapted to the needs of the aeroplane and car, which were becoming increasingly popular, with urban motorways and a new airport at Zaventem in the suburbs of Brussels.  

At the same time, housing developments meeting the most modern architectural standards were to spring from the earth, like the neighbouring Model City [Cité Modèle] of Laeken, coordinated by the Belgian architect Renaat Braem, a disciple and admirer of Le Corbusier. The initial programme was delayed considerably, and the Model City [Cité Modèle] was not fully completed until the 1960s.



SMILES ACROSS THE BOARD

Expo 58 was thus an exercise in modern communication for Belgium of the fifties that staged it. We witnessed a media hype that made the event unavoidable. Belgium wanted indelibly to impress Belgian and foreign visitors by demonstrating a lively and youthful image.

The posters and flyers from the time are a reflection of the hospitality, courtesy and promotion campaigns surrounding Expo 58 and that also reflect the graphic world of the nineteen fifties.



THE STAR LUCIEN DE ROECK


If Expo 58 marked hearts and minds, the same is true of its logo, the Star called Lucien De Roeck named after its designer, who became a design legend since then.

As a professional, Lucien De Roeck sought to bring together the elements suggest by this exhibition in a clear and simple single graphic element, above all taking account of its universality and the city in which it was located. He considered several options, including a tree stripped of its leaves, the branches bearing symbols characterising the exhibition.

But it was the theme of the Star that prevailed: I adapted the shape to a star that, in my opinion, could best explain the dynamism of this exhibition in the distorted shape I gave it. To this he added the notion of universality by using the globe and set it all in time and symbolically and paradoxically in eternity, with the figure 58 as these two figures alone mark the entire exhibition.




A WINDOW OF THE WORLD AND ON THE WORLD


With its national and commercial pavilions, Expo 58 literally presented a state of the world. Despite its message of peace and fraternity among nations, the great celebration of 58 was not spared Cold War tensions. At the foot of the Atomium, the Soviet Union (now Russia and the other Central European countries) and the United States of American mocked each other in a symbolic confrontation. Both attracted a curious and seduced crowd, the Soviet pavilion, with Sputnik at the centre, the first satellite in space, showcased the achievements of the communist society. Opposite, the American pavilion summarised the American Dream, consumer society and a certain comfort in life.

The most striking structures were those that emphasised the engineering exploits achieved in order to seek original solutions and techniques, such as buildings in prestressed concrete or hyperbolic paraboloid roofs. Among these exceptional pavilions, we should mention the Civil Engineering Arrow created by the engineer André Paduart, the architect Jean van Dooselaere, and the sculptor Jacques Moeschal; Le Corbusier’s Philips Pavilion; and the Marie Thumas restaurant pavilion, which was the work of a group of architects and engineers. With its emphasis on technical achievement, the Atomium fitted this context perfectly.

Other pavilions stressed the picturesque aspects of different countries and regions. There was a large - and somewhat controversial - colonial section testifying to Belgian rule in the Congo, at a time when the international context was evolving towards the end of European control of the colonies.

For its many visitors, Expo 58 remained a space for discovery, pleasure, and entertainment, in the image of a Belgique Joyeuse, a district of the Heysel, exclusively devoted to celebration.



THE CIVIL ENGINEERING ARROW, THE OTHER TECHNICAL AND ARCHITECTURAL FEAT

Sometimes overshadowed by the fame of the Atomium, the Civil Engineering Arrow is nonetheless a feat of architecture, art and engineering, and it attracted much attention at the event.

Made of reinforced concrete, this immense, 80-metre long cantilevered structure was designed and built by the architect Jean Van Doosselaere, the engineer André Paduart and the sculptor Jacques Moeschal.  In 1954, all three were commissioned to portray the victory of Belgian Civil Engineering over natural forces.   After several attempts, they decided to create a construction in the form of an arrow.  Work on this project began in 1957 and proved to be a real challenge.  Firstly, the wooden framework was put in place; this was then covered with a thin concrete shell.   A counterweight to the cantilevered beam was provided in the form of a triangular exhibition hall raised about 5 metres above the ground, featuring a glazed wall and a domed concrete roof.  The entire structure stood on three legs, which ensured its stability.   During its construction, the Arrow was supported by scaffolding; this was 72 metres long and 36 metres high and bore a weight of 450 tonnes.  The construction supported a 58-metre long walkway, suspended 5 metres above the ground.  This provided visitors with a bird’s eye view of a huge relief map of Belgium (scale: 1/3500), showing the country’s motorway network and major cities.

The Belgian Civil Engineering Arrow survived alongside the Atomium until the 1970s. In poor condition, it was demolished to make room for the car park of a commercial area.

EXPO 58


Le 17 avril 1958, l’Exposition universelle et internationale de Bruxelles est inaugurée sur le site du Heysel. Cette manifestation de grande envergure se veut la vitrine de la Belgique et de 44 pays (à une époque où l’ONU compte 82 membres). Avec pour slogan, le bilan d’un monde pour un monde plus humain, cet événement propage un message d’optimisme sans limite et se veut le reflet d’une société confiante en son avenir et enthousiaste quant au devenir de l’humanité.

LA GENÈSE DE L'EXPO 58

En 1953, Bruxelles est désignée pour héberger la première Exposition universelle et internationale organisée depuis la fin de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Candidate face à Paris et Londres, la capitale belge a convaincu le jury par son savoir-faire inégalé en matière d’accueil d’Expositions universelles : entre 1885 et 1935, sept d’entre-elles avaient été organisées sur son sol.

L’économie européenne est alors florissante. Les Trente glorieuses se caractérisent par une élévation considérable du niveau de vie des populations européennes au cœur d’une époque qui voit l’avenir avec une confiance que l’on croyait éternelle. En témoigne le thème de l’Expo 58 - bilan du monde, pour un monde plus humain - où ce nouveau monde de croissance sans fin repose sur une foi dans le progrès technique et scientifique. La science pure serait un salut pour l’humanité comme le propose l’une des nombreuses expositions thématiques de la manifestation. 


LA TRANSFORMATION D'UNE CAPITALE

Ouverte au public entre avril et octobre 1958, l’Exposition universelle et internationale est un immense succès : 41 454 412 entrées sont comptabilisées.

L’Expo 58 présente une fenêtre unique sur le monde à une époque où les voyages sont encore rares. Pour l’accueillir, Bruxelles, jeune capitale de la Communauté Économique Européenne [le Traité de Rome est signé un an plus tôt] est métamorphosée, adaptée aux besoins de l’aviation et de l’automobile, moyens de transports alors triomphants, avec des autoroutes urbaines et un nouvel aéroport, à Zaventem, dans la proche banlieue de Bruxelles.

Dans le même temps, des quartiers répondant aux standards architecturaux les plus modernes devaient sortir de terre à l’image de la toute voisine Cité Modèle de Laeken, coordonnée par l’architecte belge Renaat Braem, un disciple et admirateur de Le Corbusier. Le programme initial prit beaucoup de retard et la Cité Modèle fut finalisée dans les années 1960.




SOURIEZ SUR TOUTES LES LIGNES

L’Expo 58 est donc une véritable opération de communication moderne pour la Belgique des années 50 qui s’y met en scène. On assiste à un matraquage médiatique qui rend l’événement incontournable.

La Belgique souhaite impressionner durablement les visiteurs belges et étrangers en donnant d’elle une image jeune et fringante. Les affiches et prospectus de l’époque sont le reflet des campagnes d’accueil, de courtoisie et de promotion qui entourent l’Expo 58 et témoignent également de l’univers graphique des fifties.


L’ETOILE LUCIEN DE ROECK

Si l'Expo 58 a marqué les coeurs et les esprits, il en va de même pour son insigne, l’Etoile dite Lucien De Roeck du nom de son concepteur, qui depuis est entrée dans la légende du design.

En professionnel, Lucien De Roeck cherche à réunir en un seul élément graphique, à la fois clair et simple, les éléments que suggèrent cette exposition, en tenant compte surtout de son universalité et de la ville dans laquelle se situe celle-ci. Il envisage plusieurs pistes, dont celle d'un arbre dépouillé de ses feuilles, les branches soutenant les symboles caractérisant l’exposition.

Mais c'est le thème de l'Etoile qui l'emporte : j’ai adapté la forme à l’étoile qui à mon sens pouvait très bien expliquer, sous la forme déformée que je lui donnais, le dynamisme de cette exposition. A cela, il ajoute la notion d'universalité par la présence du globe et fixe l'ensemble dans le temps, et de façon aussi symbolique que paradoxale pour l'éternité, par le chiffre 58 car ces deux chiffres marquent à eux seuls toute l’exposition.



UNE VITRINE SUR LE MONDE

Avec ses pavillons nationaux et commerciaux, l’Expo 58 présente littéralement un état du monde. Malgré son message de paix et de fraternité entre les nations, la grande manifestation festive de 58 n’est pas épargnée par les tensions de la Guerre froide. Au pied de l’Atomium, l’Union soviétique (aujourd’hui la Russie et d’autres pays d’Europe centrale) et les Etats-Unis d’Amérique se narguent dans une confrontation symbolique. Attirant tous deux une foule curieuse et séduite, le pavillon soviétique au milieu duquel trône le Spoutnik, le premier satellite, expose les réussites de la société communiste. En face, le pavillon américain fait la synthèse de l’American Dream, de la société de consommation et d’un certain confort de vie.

Les édifices les plus frappants sont ceux qui mettent en avant les prouesses d’une ingénierie en recherche de solutions et techniques inusitées à l’image des structures en béton précontraint ou des toitures paraboloïdes hyperboliques. Parmi ces pavillons exceptionnels, il faut citer : la Flèche du Génie Civil de l’ingénieur André Paduart, de l’architecte Jean van Dooselaere et du sculpteur Jacques Moeschal ; le Pavillon Philips de Le Corbusier ou le pavillon du restaurant Marie Thumas, œuvre d’un collectif d’architectes et d’ingénieurs. Par sa technicité, l’Atomium s’inscrit parfaitement dans ce cadre.

D’autres pavillons de la manifestation mettent en avant le côté pittoresque des pays et des régions. Une importante, et non moins polémique, section coloniale témoigne de la mainmise belge sur le Congo, alors que le contexte international  évolue  vers la fin des tutelles européennes sur les colonies.

L’Expo 58 reste néanmoins pour ses nombreux visiteurs, un lieu de découvertes, de plaisirs et de divertissements à l’image de la Belgique joyeuse, un quartier du Heysel exclusivement consacré à la fête.



LA FLECHE DU GENIE CIVIL, L'AUTRE PROUESSE TECHNIQUE ET ARCHITECTURALE

Parfois oubliée de l’Expo 58 face à l’Atomium, la Flèche du Génie Civil est pourtant une prouesse architecturale, artistique et d’ingénierie qui a attiré les regards lors de l’événement.

Long de 80 mètres, cet immense porte-à-faux en béton armé est pensé et réalisé par l’architecte Jean Van Doosselaere, l’ingénieur André Paduart et le sculpteur Jacques Moeschal. Dès 1954, ces derniers sont chargés de représenter la victoire du Génie Civil belge sur la nature. Après plusieurs essais, ils se décident à donner cette forme de flèche à la construction. Les travaux commencent en 1957 et s’annoncent comme un véritable défi. La charpente en bois est d’abord posée, pour ensuite y déposer un voile mince de béton. L’équilibre de la poutre en porte-à-faux est réalisé au moyen d’une salle triangulaire à environ 5 mètres du sol, fermée par du vitrage et une coupole de béton. La stabilité générale de l’ensemble est assurée par un trépied. Durant sa construction, la Flèche est soutenue par un échafaudage de 72 mètres de long et 36 mètres de haut, supportant 450 tonnes. Suspendue à cette construction, une passerelle de 58 mètres de long et située à 5 mètres du sol, permettait aux visiteurs de contempler de haut une immense carte animée de la Belgique (échelle : 1/3500) où l’on pouvait apercevoir le réseau routier belge et les grandes villes du pays.
La Flèche du Génie Civil belge subsiste au côté de l’Atomium jusque dans les années 70. En piteux état, elle est dynamitée pour laisser la place au parking d’une surface commerciale.