Bruxelles Bonheur • Brussel Plezier • Brussels Happiness • Brüssel Glück

 

 

As with most of the buildings put up for Expo 58, it was agreed that the Atomium would be knocked down soon after the event came to an end. But as we know, it was an immediate big hit, so the demolition was postponed. It went on to become a key element of Brussels heritage and so it was inconceivable that it could ever be knocked down.

Over time, the links forged between the Atomium and its city have continued to become closer. What would Brussels be without its Atomium? And vice versa? They have become inextricably linked.

Today, the Atomium and Brussels have become synonymous with joy and happiness. The former by being the venue for countless jubilant events (dances, concerts, walking and cycling rallies, the death ride, fireworks, and much more) and the latter by making its way into the list of the top 20 best cities to live in the world.

The creation of the Brussels Happiness label was a way for us to re-emphasise the close relationship between the Atomium and the Capital of Europe: two places where you can enjoy life to the full and experience a host of new sensations.

Far from getting tired and worn out, the love affair with the most Belgian of buildings is still alive and well, making sure that the Atomium retains its position at the top list of the capital's most popular tourist attractions.

In 2008, the threshold of 4,000 visitors a day was exceeded many times: the ultimate record was toppled on 17th August 2008, with 4,700 people in a single day.

 

>>> Click here to download the brochure (in english, spanish or russian) containing general information about the Atomium - 2009-2010 season (PDF / 4Mb)

 
NL . FR . EN

Bruxelles Bonheur • Brussel Plezier • Brussels Happiness • Brüssel Glück

 

 

Comme pour la plupart des édifices de l’Expo’58, il fut aussi convenu que l’Atomium serait rapidement démolie au terme de l’exposition. Mais comme on le sait, son succès immédiat et sa popularité firent, à l’époque, reculer l’échéance de sa disparition. Devenu un élément majeur du patrimoine bruxellois, il n’a alors plus été envisageable de la démolir.

 

Avec le temps, les liens entre l’Atomium et sa ville natale n’ont cessé de resserrer. Que serait Bruxelles sans son Atomium? Et vice versa? L’une et l’autre sont devenues indissociables.


Aujourd’hui, l'Atomium et Bruxelles sont toutes deux devenues synonymes de joie et de bonheur de vivre. La première en accueillant  quantité de grandes réjouissances populaires (bals, concerts, rallyes pédestre ou cycliste, death ride, feux d’artifices, etc.) et la seconde en se hissant dans le classement des 20 villes les plus agréables à vivre au monde.


La création du label Bruxelles-Bonheur était pour nous une façon de re-souligner le rapport intime qui existe entre l’Atomium et la Capitale de l’Europe : deux endroits où il fait bon vivre, s'y rendre et découvrir de nouvelles sensations.
 

Loin de s’essouffler, l’engouement pour le plus belge  des bâtiments reste vif et permet ainsi à l’Atomium de conserver sa position en tête du classement des attractions touristiques les plus visitées de la Capitale.


Si le cap des 4.000 visiteurs par jour a été régulièrement dépassé durant l’année 2008 : le record absolu de fréquentation a été battu le 17 août 2008 avec 4.700 entrées en une seule journée.

 
NL . FR . EN