Vision & functioning

 

 

The Atomium: first and foremost, it's a totally crazy, fantastical, almost sci-fi building, which defies the imagination and lets your emotions run wild. Nine spheres, 5 of which you can go into and twenty tubes to wander through until you lose all your bearings, until you arrive at the unique panoramic view of the whole of the city of Brussels.

The Atomium: it's also a dream, a utopia, which took root in the mind of engineer André Waterkeyn and architects André and Jean Polak.

This dream is itself the product of its era. In 1958, humanity aspired to a better future, characterised by harmony, progress and peace. And it was in Brussels, then the young capital of Europe in its infancy (the Treaty of Rome was signed in 1957), that nations came together to celebrate the dawn of tomorrow's world.

My greatest desire is that Brussels, which has now rightfully earned its status of an international city, starts to dare once again, to dream, to set the trend, just like it did during Expo58.

My second priority is to see Brussels host a new world fair soon.
These events are part of these interactions which are as extraordinary as they are necessary, which humanity so dearly needs to join forces in reflecting our shared future, strive to mend or create new relationships, based on exchanges and collaboration between nations.

"Dare to dream of a better future on a human scale": this is the Atomium's philosophy, one that I defend to this day, and which I urge you to share.

Henri Simons
Director of Atomium asbl

 
NL . FR . EN

Vision & fonctionnement

 

 

L'Atomium: c'est d'abord un bâtiment complètement fou, fantastique, quasi de science-fiction, qui défie l'imagination et transporte d'émotion. Neuf sphères, dont 5 visitables, et vingt tubes dans lesquels on déambule jusqu'à en perdre le sens de l'orientation, pour aboutir sur un panorama unique s'ouvrant sur toute la ville de Bruxelles.

L'Atomium : c'est aussi un rêve, une utopie qui a germé dans les esprits de l'ingénieur André Waterkeyn ainsi que des architectes André et Jean Polak.

Ce rêve est lui-même le fruit de son époque. En 1958, l'humanité aspire à un avenir meilleur, harmonieux, progressiste et pacifié. Et c'est à Bruxelles, alors jeune capitale de l'Europe naissante (Traité de Rome en 1957), que les nations se rassemblent pour célébrer l'avènement du monde de demain.

Mon premier souhait est que Bruxelles, qui a aujourd'hui définitivement acquis son statut de ville internationale, se remette à oser, à rêver, à jouer les avant-gardistes tout comme elle le fit lors de l'Expo58.

Mon second souhait est de revoir Bruxelles accueillir prochainement une nouvelle exposition internationale.
Ces expositions font partie de ces rencontres aussi extraordinaires que nécessaires dont l'humanité a tant besoin pour réfléchir ensemble à notre futur commun, œuvrer à la réconciliation et établir de nouveaux liens d'échange et de collaboration entre les peuples.

"Oser rêver d'un futur meilleur à dimension humaine": telle est la philosophie de l'Atomium, celle que je défends au quotidien, et que surtout, je vous convie à partager.

 

Henri Simons
Directeur de l'asbl Atomium
 

 
NL . FR . EN